Ben Bartlett is one of the UK's most in-demand composers. Recently working with Adrain Shergold on his film Cordelia, Bartlett's music has spanned a huge range of TV and Film over the last 20 years.

Since winning a BAFTA for his score for the BBC blockbuster Walking With Dinosaurs, as well as receiving a a Primetime Emmy Nomination, Bartlett's work has been heard on innumerable award winning productions. Whilst building a truly vast body of experience in both TV and Film, Bartlett has received many other award recognitions including an Ivor Novello Nomination for his score for BBC Scotland's Fiona's Story, and several Royal Television Society nominations including the feature The Mark of Cain directed by Marc Munden. His score for the period drama Lucan inspired the Guardian to write "...Bartlett's music has been the crowning glory of this show…" and received a MASA nomination.

Ben's much loved music to the highly popular long running ITV series Vera, which stars Brenda Blethyn, has seen audiences reach in excess of 6 million and been recently released as a soundtrack album. His scores for the Sky One's Lucky Man, ITV's The Loch and Sky Atlantic's The Tunnel saw Bartlett explore a huge range of musical approaches from solo violin, chamber voice and live aleatoric string orchestra,  through to unique synth programming and solo piano performed by the composer.

His collaborations with director Adrian Shergold led to his work with Ray Winstone on the ITV Drama The Trials Of Jimmy Rose, as well as the 3-part epic He Kills Coppers, based on the Jake Arnot novel.


Ben has also written extensively for concert hall and theatre, receiving critical acclaim for his mini-opera El Tigre, based on a poem of Pablo Neruda. He piano work Caprice was performed at The Queen Elizabeth Hall, London.

He lectures on composition and has judged on awards panels including BAFTA and Ivor Novello.

Ben works from his studio complex in West London.

2000 - BAFTA winner - Best Original Music

           Walking with Dinosaurs

2000 - Primetime Emmy nominee

           Walking with Dinosaurs

2005 - RTS nominee - Best Titles Music

           The Ghost Squad

2007 - RTS nominee - Best Score

         The Mark Of Cain feature 

2009 - Ivor Novello Award nominee - 

           Best TV Score 

           Fiona's Story

2009 - RTS nominee - Best TV Score

           Mutual Friends

2014 - MASA  nominee - Best TV Score 




As well as his work for screen, Bartlett has written extensively for the concert hall and theatre. He was educated in London, attending Westminster City Grammar school, and Pimlico Comprehensive Special Music School. He received specialist tuition under noted concert pianist Albert Ferber and went on to read music at Royal Holloway College, London University. There he rubbed shoulders with the drama department, discovering composition for theatre. He later studied composition at Guildhall School of Music and Drama, where he won the Lutoslawski Prize for composition. 

Debuting as a pianist at The Purcell Room aged 14, Bartlett went on to receive critical acclaim for his mini-opera El-Tigre, a setting for chamber ensemble and mezzo soprano of the Pablo Neruda poem of the same name. Premiered at the 1995 season of the Covent Garden Festival and performed at the Donmar Warehouse, Covent Garden, the Hispanic/Latin influenced fusion of flamenco, tango and opera was conducted by Charles Hazlewood and performed by Maria Koripas. Bartlett composed his suite for string orchestra Nine based on fragments of Ravel's String Quartet, performed at Leighton House Museum by the Dallapicolla Ensemble under the baton of Luigi Suvini. Bartlett's piano music was performed at the Queen Elizabeth Hall by Louis Avanis, and his Piano Trio Three was performed at St Martins In The Field by the Chamber Music Company under Mark Troop. Bartlett was later commissioned to write for The Dancer On The Point of Being Undressed performed at The Place in London.


Bartlett has been in demand as a speaker in Australia, Germany and London, and has been invited to lecture at the Royal College of Music, The National Film and Television School, UK and The Arts Educational Schools, London.

Ben Bartlett has judged on the BAFTA Craft Awards Panel as well as on the Ivor Novello Awards Panel on several ocassions.

Ben Bartlett Composer
  • Ben Bartlett Twitter
  • Ben Bartlett Soundcloud
  • Ben Bartlett Spotify
  • Ben Bartlett iTunes
Ben Bartlett Composer

UK Film Music Limited

Lesley Jackson

+44 (0) 7568 154 050